For the First Time in my Life, I’m a Minority

I love going to school to an art school. The diversity of all the students and faculty are part of what makes it so inspiring. Seeing life from different perspectives can help broaden your knowledge and spark creativity. But, being from a smaller town in Oregon with not much diversity, it took some getting used to.

I’m not saying this as a bad thing but being one of the few straight males in the fashion program has been a learning curve for me. At the high school in my hometown straight males were a majority of the population. Everyday was spent surrounded by people just like me. Now, I spend my education around a variety of people. Sure, we all have apparel design as a common interest but our differences make each other stronger. I’ve learned a lot from my classmates and I’ll continue to learn from the diversity of life.

wolf.jpg

Leave a Reply

